top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenn Natsue

"I Am Uncomfortable When We Are Not About Me"

We all know someone like this, and we all try not to be "that person." You know, a Michael Scott without the endearing parts. Here's what to look out for.


 

This tidbit is something my sister brought up to me. And yes, it came on the coattails of discussing someone who just might be #problematic.

I know the video is 15 minutes long, but it's a really fascinating topic, and not one that comes to mind very often. The conversation is easy to follow and moves along well enough that if played in the background, it passes time nicely (and informatively!).


A special part that sticks out to me is where the interviewer says something along the lines of, 'If you don't know someone with these symptoms, it might be you.' So take the time in day-to-day life to ask yourself big questions that may indeed be stressful. Is this the kind of person I want to be? Am I working toward my goals in the right way? Did I make enough coffee to share? Did I genuinely ask my boyfriend if his boss has yelled fewer times today? Would Dr. Ramani Durvasula classify me as a narcissistic sociopath? If all but the last answer is yes, pass Go and collect $200.


One of my favorite quotes comes to mind, as it often does, when dealing with soul-searching questions. Oscar Wilde, the author of The Picture of Dorian Gray, fittingly said, "The world thought I was mad, I thought the world was mad. And I was outvoted." If woe is constantly upon you, and nothing is ever your fault, the common denominator is usually the culprit. But this can also be taken another way, as I see it: for issues that are truly near and dear and causes that you truly believe in, stick to your guns--but be aware that the world may not see it that way, and take responsibility for that.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Using Opera: My New Default Browser

For the last month or so, and after being recommended it by a tech-savvy friend, I've been testing out Opera. It's a web browser that's Chromium-based, i.e., it's a lot like Google Chrome, with an imp

bottom of page