top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenn Natsue

WHY SO SERIOUS

Updated: Sep 12, 2018

Every so often, I'll witness a person doing or saying something that makes me realize I do the same thing. And while worrisome, it's also slightly reassuring. #CanRelate



Yesterday, I watched a video by the awesome Samantha Ravndahl in which she discussed how she's too hard on herself. When making a List of Things to Do (which I make a billion of every day), it's easy to get caught up in thinking you're not doing enough.


For example, during yesterday's quest to figure out how to fix the text editing issue on Wix, I learned about twenty new things I can do with site editing, but did not find any resolution to my current problem. (If you too are having issues with the text being white on a white background in the text editor, please let me and customer service know!) So far, the only thing that has helped is switching the active window to my second monitor, on which colors and brightness are slightly different. I'm currently typing white text on a slightly 0ff-white background. At least it makes me feel like a spy typing something furtive.


In the time I give myself to not purely stick to the Things to Do, I'll also find myself wanting to research more "fun" things to do that quickly become more of a headache and are added to the List, and thus continues the stressful cycle. And while it's education, it's rarely really useful the for my activities at hand.


Honestly, the real reason for this post was to get it off my chest and hope that someone--anyone?--out there feels the same, and that this provides some comfort to other people struggling with self-induced stress and unrealistic goal setting. And if this doesn't relate to you, maybe it will help you understand people who do!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Using Opera: My New Default Browser

For the last month or so, and after being recommended it by a tech-savvy friend, I've been testing out Opera. It's a web browser that's Chromium-based, i.e., it's a lot like Google Chrome, with an imp

bottom of page