top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenn Natsue

Winter Cleaning v Spring Cleaning



1960s Commercial Man Voice: "You've heard of Spring Cleaning, but get ready for Winter Cleaning! You want to know Susan's secret to a clean home? Cleaning Supply chains hate her!"


Some people swear by it. Some people go ham driving load of clothes to Goodwill when it's nice and warm out. But that's too easy!


I've been finding myself trapped inside a bit more often (thanks, Chicago weather!) but it's given me time to collate what items I really need and use often, and ones that I can pass on to someone who will love them.


Everything that's been going into my donation box lately have been old clothes that don't fit right, electronics I no longer use (lots of cables, oddly), and even some books. I think that Marie Kondo show really tapped into a part of me that desired minimalism... instead of feeling guilty over saving clutter-y items, I reassure myself that if I haven't used it, it can go to someone else. I've even been folding my clothes using her method. When all that stuff is in a box or a giant bag (because let's face it, we save up those, too), I haul them into a Lyft and off to Goodwill through the cold and snow.


But I especially love doing this in the fall/winter because the holidays are coming up, and now that I actually have people asking what I want for Christmas (crazy, right?), I can make a short list of things I'll love. Old sweaters with holes? Ask for a new cozy one. A new doormat? That'll go on the list. And no, I'm not asking for anything exorbitant or expensive. When I get a single item from which I'll get a ton of use, I get a rush of excitement. Especially when it's replacing three old things that I've said goodbye to. Shopping addiction, who? I'm a minimalist girl now hair flip, hair gets caught on lipgloss


For now, I'm hoping that all this Schtuff* reduction will mean springtime will be a smooth transition, and I'll be able to get around my apartment without stepping over bags of stuff I know I should get rid of. Cheers to more cozy days cleaning!


*Chicagoan for "stuff"

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Using Opera: My New Default Browser

For the last month or so, and after being recommended it by a tech-savvy friend, I've been testing out Opera. It's a web browser that's Chromium-based, i.e., it's a lot like Google Chrome, with an imp

bottom of page