top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenn Natsue

When to stop adding to a to-do list

I started off this blog with a weekly To-Do list. While I enjoyed being able to "check off" items, I realized that making this list created a barrier to my creative workflow, and my professional goals. It was also, frankly, stressful and boring.


I still make To-Do lists! Fun side note: I once used the app #Todoist for this, but it either stopped working altogether, or required an iOS update. (I'd still recommend it for anyone with an up-to-date phone who consistently updates their apps!) Now, I'm using good ol' scratch paper for my "dailies"--but I often keep adding to a list halfway throughout the day. I realized my issue with feeling overwhelmed and like I was stretching myself too thin was with setting up unrealistic expectations for myself, even on a day-to-day basis. I reminded myself not to be a perfectionist with this video. It's taken some personal introspection (and a lot of T0-Do List rewrites), but I feel confident in saying that I've stopped giving myself more work to do after 10AM. If it's not directly related to my goals for the day, it's getting tabled--and probably journaled about later.


If you're feeling overwhelmed with your own goals and objectives, give yourself a moment to step back. Realize that it's not the end of the world if you don't get through all 20 of your itemized "things to do," especially when half of them were added later in the day. You can let yourself focus on what is most important, and fulfilling! And when that stuff does get done, give yourself (another) moment to feel proud.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Using Opera: My New Default Browser

For the last month or so, and after being recommended it by a tech-savvy friend, I've been testing out Opera. It's a web browser that's Chromium-based, i.e., it's a lot like Google Chrome, with an imp

bottom of page